Where is the key? What is the key?

If you have any problem, you can fin dan answer in the Bible. With this sentence I would like to introduce the story of trouble that we went through. The day started as usually.  I woke up at 7 am., took a shower and went to prepare the morning prayer. Before I left the flat, I asked Maciek to give me the key for the sacristy. First I went upstairs to the parish house to slip a cup of tea, look up the Bible passage in the internet and to take a notice paper from the office. Afterwards I went to the church which had already been opened, took a  Bible and began to write down the outline of the morning prayer. Maciek and Sabastian came and the morning prayer started. After the prayer I realized that the key wasn’t in my pocket anymore.  I quickly had a look in the sacristy but it wasn’t there. After breakfast I asked the landlady who was in the church before me whether she had not accidentally taken the keys out of the lock of the sacristy where I might have possibly put it. But she hadn’t. Slowly I grew afraid, but the dudes told me to stay calm. They were optimistic. They told me that our God is like the light in the darkness that helps us find the way when we get really lost. Therefore they believed that the key would be found in the afternoon when we were back from the trip.

Back at home we profoundly searched through the whole church and sacristy, but no key…So the only place where the key could be found was our flat. We searched in the whole flat but also no key… At the end of the day we gave up hope to find the key. I had a really bad mind that I lost the key. Our host gave us the key and trusted us that we would care about it. Furthermore I feared the financial consequences in case the key and the locks have to be exchanged.

When I woke up the next morning I have already accepted that we won’t find it. Before the morning prayer, Sebastian gave me the bible and told me that the answer to every problem can be found in the bible. I wasn’t sure what he meant. As he told me that I have to open the bible, I opened it on the page with the passage I used for the prayer the day before:

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John, 8:12)

between the sheets, there was it. The key. Only now I realized that I had used it as a bookmark. Sebastian was right to say that the answer to every problem can be found in the bible.

Jan

 

 

Leave a Reply

